The David Bowie vaults are about to open up, and there’s a never before released album in there.

The Gouster, the album that became 1975’s Young Americans, will be included in a new box set, Who Can I Be Now? (1974-1976), the follow-up to last year’s Five Years (1969-1973).

Tony Visconti, Bowie’s longtime producer, writes in the liner notes, “Gouster was a word unfamiliar to me, but David knew it as a type of dress code worn by African-American teens in the ’60s, in Chicago. But in the context of the album, its meaning was attitude, an attitude of pride and hipness. Of all the songs we cut, we were enamored of the ones we chose for the album that portrayed this attitude.”

Visconti says Bowie didn’t just record these songs on a lark, either. “David had a long infatuation with soul as did I. We were fans of the TV show Soul Train. We weren’t ‘young, gifted and black,’ but we sure as hell wanted to make a killer soul album, which was quite insane, but pioneers like the Righteous Brothers were there before us.”

Here’s how The Gouster’s tracklisting looked before it morphed into Young Americans.

Side 1

1. John, I’m Only Dancing (Again)


2. Somebody Up There Likes Me

3. It’s Gonna Be Me

Side 2

1. Who Can I Be Now?

2. Can You Hear Me

3. Young Americans


4. Right

No word yet on when the set will be released

Missed The Christian O'Connell Show? Catch up by clicking play below and join us from 6AM every weekday!